image

Genre: ActionAdventure, FantasyGame

Plot Summary: The story takes place in the year 2138 when virtual reality gaming is booming. Yggdrasil, a popular online game is quietly shut down one day. However, the protagonist Momonga decides to not log out. Momonga is then transformed into the image of a skeleton as “the most powerful wizard.” The world continues to change, with non-player characters (NPCs) beginning to feel emotion. Having no parents, friends, or place in society, this ordinary young man Momonga then strives to take over the new world the game has become.

What I think: I enjoyed watching this anime, or at least most of it. At some point it got a little boring but it has humour and the characters are extremely well designed. I think it has a little more realistic view of what would happen if someone got trapped in a videogame, than other anime’s like SAO.
The thing I don’t completely understand is why the main character, Momonga, doesn’t completely freak out after noticing that he has no way of logging off the game or contacting someone. If it was me, and even though the game would be my whole life, I would still loose it for a while.
If you have watched similar storys , for example SAO or Log Horizon, and you liked them even a little bit, you should give Overlord a try, you won’t be dissapointed.

